Seven players from 2012 glory days to carry Germanys hopes in Berlin


Photo CEV: Germanys head coach Vital Heynen.

Some 48 hours away from their home debut coming up on Tuesday late afternoon against the Red Dragons of Belgium, Germanys mentor Vital Heynen (pictured) announced the name of the 14 players that will be carrying the hosts hopes of securing a ticket to the Rio 2016 Olympics. Germany are one of eight elite teams competing at the European Olympic Qualification Tournament, which is due to start on Tuesday, January 5, at Max-Schmeling-Halle in Berlin.

The last players to be removed from the list by coach Heynen were Michael Andrei, Daniel Malescha and Dirk Westphal.

I have selected 14 players and retained those that are currently in the best shape, Heynen explains. As usual it was very difficult to narrow the names down to 14. Before announcing the names of those retained for the competition, I asked five members of the team to share their opinion and they all came up with a different composition, he continues.

Germanys roster includes 10 players currently performing in various national leagues abroad and another four from the Bundesliga. Nine of the 14 guys selected by Heynen were among those who claimed a historic bronze medal at the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Championship in Poland, and another seven were there last June when Germany won gold at the Baku 2015 European Games.

The group features as many as seven players who back in 2012 used the home-court advantage to secure Germanys appearance at the London Olympics. These are Lukas Kampa, Denys Kaliberda, Sebastian Schwarz, Marcus Bhme, Christian Dnnes, Gyrgy Grozer and Markus Steuerwald. Four years later they will be hoping to repeat that success story when performing again before the home crowd at Max-Schmeling-Halle, which has since become known as Germanys Volleyball Temple.

Germanys roster for the European Olympic Qualification Tournament in Berlin

Setters: Lukas Kampa (Czarni RADOM/POL), Patrick Steuerwald (TSV HERRSCHING)
Outside Spikers: Christian Fromm, Denys Kaliberda (Sir Safety-Sicoma PERUGIA/ITA), Sebastian Schwarz (Lotos Trefl GDANSK/POL), Tom Strohbach (TV ROTTENBURG)
Middle blockers: Marcus Bhme (Cuprum LUBIN/POL), Tim Broshog (Noliko MAASEIK/BEL), Philipp Collin (TOURS VB/FRA)
Opposites: Christian Dnnes (United Volleys RHEIN/MAIN), Gyrgy Grozer (DAEJEON Samsung Bluefangs/KOR), Simon Hirsch (Ninfa LATINA/ITA)
Liberos: Markus Steuerwald (PARIS Volley/FRA), Ferdinand Tille (TSV HERRSCHING)

Direkter Link:


Hinweis: Dies ist ein aktueller Bericht vom 03.01.2016!

Druckversion Beitrag weiterempfehlen



Olympia Qualifikation FrauenOlympia Qualifikation Frauen